Skip to main content

FHS Media Center and Learning Commons: Home

Here's your home for all things related to the Learning Commons, the Media Center, the makerspace, you name it!

About Us

Open School Days 7:15-3:30 
Phone: 651-252-2509
Students are welcome anytime to use computers, keyboards, and work spaces.

Ms. Kaste, Information Technology and Literacy Specialist: akaste@farmington.k12.mn.us

Mrs. Donnelly, Ipad Tech: ddonnelly@farmington.k12.mn.us  Direct: 651-252-2862

Find Books

Click the blue box to search for Print, E- and Audio Books:

Or better yet, download the Destiny Quest app! Instructions about how to link to FHS' collection can be found here:  Destiny App Instructions.

Ebooks and Audiobooks: Go through Destiny, or go download the ebook app FollettShelf or MackinVia.  Instructions for accessing through apps are here.

Research Articles

 EXPLORA

Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia. Includes Middle Search Plus, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source - Consumer Edition, and Science Reference Center databases

 

STUDENT RESOURCES IN CONTEXT

Encyclopedia, magazine, and journal articles, plus primary sources, images, video, and more for middle and high school students. Includes the InfoTrac Student Edition database.

Ebooks for Research

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY

Collection of online reference books and encyclopedias covering topics from Art to History to Medicine.

 

 

EBSCO EBOOK COLLECTION

Collection of online reference books and encyclopedias covering topics from Art to History to Medicine.

Newspaper Articles

PROQUEST

Newspaper articles from hundreds of papers including the Minneapolis Star Tribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, USA Today, and many more

Biographies

BIOGRAPHY IN CONTEXT

Username and password required for access. Click here for un/pw.

Biographical information on thousands of people, from historical figures to modern day celebrities.
Funded by MELSA/DCL*

Kahoot!

Take this Kahoot Quiz to see how well you know the databases!

Encyclopedias

BRITTANICA

Encyclopedia content for high school grades plus multimedia, timelines, world atlas, country comparison, and primary sources

 

 

WORLD BOOK

Username and password required for access. Click here for un/pw.

Points of View Databases

  ISSUES AND CONTROVERSIES

Username and password required for access. Click here for un/pw.

 Pro vs. con essays that present multiple sides of current or controversial issues. Plus magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, and more

 

 

POINTS OF VIEW REFERENCE CENTER

Pro vs. con essays that present multiple sides of current or controversial issues. Plus magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, and more related to those issues

 

 

OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS IN CONTEXT

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

@FHSMC